The Blanket

Never have I ever felt more distressed, even the thought of ghosts under the bed doesn’t scare me how much this incident shook my nerves.

The discomfort the whole night provided me felt like I was being punished, being kept away from a loved and significant one.

The significant one here is the blanket.

The blanket had been with me, even when I wasn’t home, even when I had nightmares, even when I had sweet dreams.

This one specific night, I was so tired of the day. I casually walked up to my bed and fell asleep only to wake up in an hour and realise that I don’t have my blanket. I realised that my blanket was in the room upstairs. In the dark and silent night the distance seemed too far to travel to.

“Come on, a blanket doesn’t mean so much” I thought as I tried to sleep again.

But in vain, I could not keep my eyes closed for more than an hour as the urge to have a blanket was stronger than my sleep.

Being stubborn, I thought of all tactics I could put to use.

I put my pillow over me trying to pretend it was a blanket.

I went to the other room only to find an unwashed folded table cloth. I found some towels lying around and even considered using them as a blanket. Even thought about pulling up half of the bedsheet and wrapping it up as a blanket. (But I didn’t as I had already made mom upset the previous day, and waking up to me sleeping with table cloth over me would have certainly made her more upset)

Tossing and turning, the night was filled with more weird ideas than dreams.

Next day when I told mom about this, she simply said that it would have been a lot more easier if I just got my blanket from upstairs (so finally, I still managed to keep her upset 🙂 )

Through all this tossing and turning what I realised was,

It is no use trying to substitute the significant and loved people in your life, no one can give you comfort like them. Just like how even the pillow could not replace the blanket even when both of them are objects of comfort.

So, if your significant person is emotionally away from you, don’t try substituting them, instead, just walk up to that room upstairs and bring them back with you however far the distance may seem.

13 Comments

  1. Wow such a nice correlation….
    It’s true nobody can replace our true wishers, and if we ever try so it leaves a bi…..g vacuum in our lives…
    Loved reading and relating to it….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi ! Disha nice narration
    My both sons also fond off blanket and never compromise with other substitute.
    Keep writing……. God bless you😘👍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment